5 August 2015

Our Ref: J27035 / J31314

Your Ref: Email received 21 July 2011

The Oysterbay Residents C/o Mr Rowan Jackson Oysterbay Shop Oysterbay

Email: oysterbayshop@igen.co.za

Dear Oysterbay Residents



Tshwane

Lynnw ood Corporate Park Block A, 1st Floor, East Wing 36 Alkantrant Road Lynnw ood 0081 PO Box 35007 Menlo Park 0102

Tel: +27 12 348 5880 Fax: +27 12 348 5878 Web: w w w .gibb.co.za

RE: ESKOM EIA CONCERNS FOR THE PROPOSED NUCLEAR POWER STATION AND ASSOCIATED INFRASTRUCTURE (DEA Ref. No: 12/12/20/944)

Comment 1:

Oysterbay petition against W1 Construction Entrance: It was said that walk overs or an under road tunnel will be made available for pedestrians. What about the elderly who would then have to use stairs up and down, if an under road passage is used, people will land up sleeping, drinking and taking drugs as is done in various parts of the world all ready.

Response 1:

Thank you for your comments. The Transport specialist study was revised and the western access route alternatives have been revised. The R330 is now proposed to be used for light vehicle traffic and abnormal load transport, and sections will require upgrading for this purpose. The Oyster Bay Road is now proposed to be upgraded to a surfaced road to be used during the construction and operations phases for staff access, light vehicle traffic, and heavy vehicle traffic and as an emergency evacuation route for areas such as Oyster Bay. DR1762, which links the R330 and Oyster Bay Road, is now proposed to be surfaced to provide improved east-west connectivity. Several bypasses have been proposed to avoid construction traffic using the Humansdorp Main Street travelling between the N2 and the Oyster Bay Road; as well as to avoid general traffic using the Humansdorp Main Street to travel between Voortrekker Road (R102) and the R330. The Revised Transportation specialist study will form part of the Revised EIR Version 2 and will be made available for public review.

Kindly refer to the figure below.







Comment 2:

PETITION

ALL RESIDENTS OF OYSTER BAY/ UMZAMAWHETU

Eskom plans a western access road to Thyspunt that will have a huge impact to all resents of Oyster Bay and Umzamuwethu.

The preferred road W1 (pink on attached map) will cut off Umzamuwethu from Oyster Bay and run very close to houses in both villages.

During the construction phase (could be 7-9 years) they estimate up to 600 trucks, busses and other vehicles using this route daily!

If you are against the pink route and for the blue route, please sign this petition so that we can send it to Arcus GIBB (Eskom consultants) thereby showing them out opposition to the planned road once built, we cannot change it and it will affect all of us for the next 10-15 years.

Eskom beplan om 'n westerlike toegangs pad te bou to by Thyspunt wat ons almal op Oesterbaai en Umzamuwethu gaan beinvloed.

Die voorgestelde pad W1 (pink op begevoegde kaart) sal nie net Umzamuwethu van Oesterbaai afsny nie, maar ook baie naby aan huise in beide Oesterbaai en Umzamuwethu loop.

Gedurende die konstrucksie fase (kan van 709 jaar duur) kan daar to 600 trokke, busse en ander voertuie die pad daagliks gebruik!

Daar is 'n alternatiewe pad W4 (blou op die kaart) wat 400 m oos van Umzamuwethu sal loop en verder van huise op Oesterbaai sal wees.

Indien u teen die beplande pink roete en vir die alternatiewe blou roete is, teken asseblief die petisie soda tons dit vir Arcus GIBB (Eskom Konsultante) kan stuur en hulle daardeur ons teenkanting teen die beoogde pad kan wys. As die pad eers gebou is, kan ons niks meer daaraan doen nie en dit sal mense op beide Oesterbaai en Umzamuwethu vir die volgende 10-15 jaar beinvloed.

Names on Oysterbay Petition Against W1 Construction Entrance

1	Gert Bassie	27	O Cilliers	53	Leanne Oates
2	Rowan Jackson	28	G Summer	54	Marybeth Hansen
3	Roy Vickery	29	A Vickery	55	Ryan Austin
4	Marinus Meyer	30	LS grobler	56	Donovan Austin
5	Marie Brits	31	Manda van Eyk	57	Christ Pittaway
6	Marizamm Thandi	32	AJ Goosen	58	Keith Belling
7	Marie Rollison	33	Jaen Smit	59	Jeanne Belling
8	Kelly Blow	34	Charlotte Bredell	60	Andre Deyzel
9	Elsie Bles	35	H Oosthuizen	61	Megan van Tonder

10	Ragel Kgarbe	36	JH Nel	62	Colleen Whitehead	
11	Johannes Alexander	37	E Goos	63	Kurt Dietrich	
12	Brenda	38	WJ Kurten	64	JJ Sevenster	
13	Anna Settley	39	PJ Jooste	Sec	Second Petition	
14	Sanna Louw	40	RT Brooks	1	Nick Bornman	
15	Ria Barry	41	SE Terblanche	2	Rumius Dreyer	
16	Hendrike Koort	42	JM Koen	3	Lizeue Els	
17	Johanna Alexander	43	MM Koen	4	Esther Franzsen	
18	Piet Alexander	44	Herman Stoffberg	5	M Pienaar	
19	Golden Mbopa	45	S Brown	6	Erna roux	
20	Elodrow Scheepers	46	M Beeney	7	Leon Roux	
21	Martha Rollison	47	W Pieterson	8	Sally Bredell	
22	Francis Michaels	48	M Smit	9	Mona	
23	R Meintjies	49	JC Smit	10	Vuyolwethu Ronaldo	
24	MD Stander	50	PM Rabe	11	Vivian Scholtz	
25	ОВ	51	Z Rabe	12	Rivavino Greef Barry	
26	HC Marx	52	L Erasmus			

Response 2:

Kindly refer to our response 1 above.

Yours faithfully for GIBB (Pty) Ltd

Nuclear-1 EIA Team