Date: 2013-02-22

DEA Ref: 12/9/11/L1010/6

Our Ref: S0611

Attention: Interested and Affected Party



Johannesburg: Tel: (011) 326-4158, Fax: (011) 326-4118

P.O. Box 68221, Bryanston, 2021, RSA 59 Woodlands Avenue, Hurlingham Office

Park, 2070

**KwaZulu-Natal:** Tel/Fax: (033) 343-5826

2 Wattle Grove, Hilton, 320

Namibia: Tel: (+264) (0) 64-406-587

Fax: (+264) (0) 88-647-501 P.O. Box 4821, Swakopmund

Dear Interested and Affected Party

## REVIEW OF DRAFT ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT ASSESSMENT REPORT

## WASTE MANAGEMENT LICENCE FOR ASH DAM EXTENSION 3 AT KOMATI POWER STATION

I would like to inform you that the <u>draft</u> Environmental Impact Assessment report (DEIR) for the operation of Ash Dam Extension 3 at the Komati Power Station has been completed and is available for review. Synergistics Environmental Services (Pty) Ltd (Synergistics) was responsible for completing the DEIR on behalf of Eskom Holdings SOC Ltd (Eskom).

A copy of the DEIR has been placed at the Eskom security office, Komati Power Station for review. An electronic copy of the DEIR can be viewed on the Eskom or Synergistics websites at:

www. Eskom.co.za/eia or www.synergistics.co.za/reports.

To access the report click on 'Komati Ash Dam', and the report and key appendices can be downloaded. Alternatively, contact Synergistics and a copy can be made available.

As a registered Interested and Affected Party (IAP), the report is hereby provided to you for review and comment. Please note that in terms of the exemption granted by the Department of Environmental Affairs (DEA) the EIA review period is reduced to 21 calendar days. Please submit all comments on the DEIR to Synergistics on or before 14 March 2013. All comments received will be included with the final report submitted to the DEA.

Please submit all comments to Matthew Hemming of Synergistics Environmental Services (Pty) Ltd at

Tel: (011) 326-4158 Fax: (011) 326-4118

Email: matthew@synergistics.co.za Post: P.O. Box 68221, Bryanston, 2021, RSA

Yours Sincerely



**Matthew Hemming** 

MSc (Conservation Biology)

Director