Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Skip Navigation LinksHome>About Electricity>Visitor Centres
Visitor centres

Visitors centres - the story behind the switch

To introduce you to the exciting world of electricity generation, Eskom's Generation Division has four visitors centres - based at Lethabo (coal-fired), Koeberg (nuclear), Palmiet and Drakensberg (hydro pumped storage) power stations respectively.
The visitors centre facilities include interactive models demonstrating how electricity is generated as well as informative and colourful displays. Presentations are tailored to suit visitors needs and tours of the power stations can be organised. Bookings are essential.
Invitation to visit Eskom Visitors Centres during Heritage month:





Lethabo: Northern Free State accessible via the highways from Johannesbug, Pretoria and Bloemfontein.


Drakensberg : Between Harrismith and Bergville in the Northern Berg of KwaZulu-Natal.



Koeberg: About 30 km from Cape Town on the West Coast road.

Palmiet: About 80 km from Cape Town on the N2 national road south.


Ingula:  About 50km from Ladysmith in KwaZulu-Natal,  off the R103
Did you know?
    • Eskom produces approximately 60% of the electricity on the African continent and, in terms of generating capacity, is the TENTH largest power company in the world.
    • Eskom's 26 power stations, located in different parts of the country, use coal, water, kerosene or uranium as their primary energy source and together keep the lights burning throughout southern Africa.
    • Lethabo Power Station burns the lowest grade coal in the world.
    • Koeberg is the only nuclear power station on the African continent.
    • Apart from the dams and transmission lines, Drakensberg is located entirely underground.
    • Palmiet is situated in the UNESCO registered Kogelberg Biosphere Reserve, heart of the fynbos plant kingdom