Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Skip Navigation LinksHome>Our Company>Leadership
Board of Directors as on 8 December 2017

Note: Some of the profiles listed are currently under review and the latest profiles will be published as soon as they become available.  

Mr Zethembe Khoza
Mr Zethembe Khoza has a Diploma for Technician and a Senior Executive Program Certificate. He is currently a Director of Zete Kay Investments. Prior to that, he was Group Executive responsible for Contact Centre Operations and also Acting Group Executive for Procurement Services at Telkom SA Pty Ltd. His skills and expertise in leadership, financial management and public policy continues to add value to the Board.
Sean Maritz
Interim Group Chief Ex​ecutive
(No profile available at present)
Mr Anoj Singh
 Chief Financial Officer
Mr. Singh qualified as a Chartered Accountant in 2000. He has over 15 years’ experience in Finance; Auditing; Commercial; Strategy Development and Execution; Financial Risk Modelling and Management; Treasury and Capital Project Management. Mr Singh was previously the CFO of Transnet SOC Ltd.
Professor Dr. Pathmanathan Naidoo ​

Independent non-executive
Dr Pat Naidoo obtained his doctorate in 2008 from the Da Vinci Institute for Technology Management, South Africa. From 1985 to June 2010 he was in the employ of Eskom having served in various positions from engineer-in-training to Senior General Manager. He is currently a Specialist Consultant and Resident Professional Engineer at Pat Naidoo Consulting Engineers cc RSA since September 2010. His skills and expertise in business strategy within the energy industry continues to add value to the Board.
Mr Giovanni Leonardi
 Independent non-executive
Mr Giovanni Leonardi has a Diploma in Electrical Engineering and a Senior Executive Program Certificate. He is the former CEO of Alpiq Holding Ltd (former Atel Ltd), leading Swiss electricity provider from 2004 to 2011. He also worked as the CEO at Atel Elettroimpianti Ticino SA- Energy Services (former Sarr SA/ Inelectra SA). His skills and expertise in international electricity industry continues to add value to the Board.
Dr Pulane Molokwane

Independent non-executive
Dr Pulane Elsie Molokwane obtained a Ph.D in Chemical Technology (Environmental), Environmental Engineering. Dr Molokwane is registered with the Scientific Profession Council of South Africa as a Professional Natural Scientist and is a Board member of Inkomati Usuthu Catchment Management Area, Sedibeng Water Board and Crescentwood Home Owners Association. Dr Molokwane is a founder and Managing Director at POB Environment Solutions. Her expertise in Environment, Project Management, Research, Nuclear Fuel Management, Corporate Governance, Water and Waste Management is expected to add value to the Board.
Dr Banothile Makhubela
Independent non-executive
Dr Banothile Makhubela obtained PhD in Chemistry from the University of Cape Town in 2011, Master of Science (MSc) in Chemistry by dissertation from University of Cape Town in 2008, Bachelor of Science (Honours) in Chemistry from University of Cape Town in 2006 and Bachelor of Science (BSc) from University of Zululand in 2005. Dr Makhubela is currently advising/supervising scientific research projects at BSc Honours, Masters and Ph.D level within University of Johannesburg and University of Cape Town. She is Non-Executive Director on the Board of PetroSA. Her skills in research, chemistry in the energy industry is expected to add value to the Board.
MR Simphiwe Dingaan
Independent non-executive
Mr Simphiwe Dingaan obtained a B.Com degree from the University of Natal in 1997. Mr Dingaan’s career has complementary corporate and entrepreneurial leadership roles. After working for Rand Merchant Bank and Mondi, Mr Dingaan founded Veraison (Pty) Ltd, an investment holding company specialised in the medical industry. Over a period of three years he led a team that built one of the foremost medical facilities in Kwa-Zulu Natal from concept to completion. His current Directorships, amongst other include Skweyiya Investments, Askhar and Dingaan, Dovetail Trading and Dirang Logistics. His skill in Corporate Financial Management, Auditing, Risk and Project Management   is expected to add value to the Board.
Mr Sathaseelan Gounden
 Independent non-executive
Mr Sathiaseelan Gounden obtained a B. Compt from UNISA a Higher Diploma in Accounting (CTA) from the University of Durban- Westville; a Certificate in Forensic Accounting & Fraud Examination from the University of Pretoria; completed an Executive Leadership Development Institute at Harvard Business School and is an Accredited Mediator. He has extensive auditing, accounting, forensics, consulting and tax experience; is an expert in financial reporting using IFRS / SA GAAP / GRAP. His knowledge in risk management; the PFMA & Treasury regulations; Financial reporting; the King Code on Corporate Governance, the Companies Act and BBBEE is expected to add value to the Board.
Prof. Malegapuru William Makgoba
Prof. Malegapuru William Makgoba obtained a PhD in Human Immunogenetics from Oxford University in 1983, Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery (M.B & Ch.B.) from University of Natal in 1976. Prof Makgoba is an internationally recognised molecular immunology. He is the Health Ombud of South Africa and the Deputy Chair of the 2nd National Planning Commission. He is internationally recognised for his contribution to advances in health.  His skills and competencies of being a recognised leader, driving the transformation agenda of the country, dealing with complex matters relating to Government policy, Corporate Governance and Human Resources.

Prof Tshepo Herbert Mongalo


Prof Tshepo Herbert Mongalo obtained a PhD in Commercial Law from University of Cape Town in 2015, LLM in Commercial Law from University of Cambridge in 2000, LLB from University of Natal in 1998 and B.Proc from University of Natal 1997. Prof Mongalo is currently Associate Professor of Commercial Law at the University of Witwatersrand (WITS). He is a founder and the member of the Tong-Mongalo Corporate Services CC, which was contracted to assist the Presidential SOE Review Committee (PRC) in research and the preparation of the Integrated Report on the Regulatory Framework for the Governance and Ownership of the State Owned Entities. His skills in Legal, Corporate Governance and Ethics, Business Strategy, Corporate and Financial Law and Policy.

Board committees:
ARC:  Audit and Risk Committee
P&G:  People and Governance Committee
SES:  Social, Ethics and Sustainability Committee
IFC:    Investment and Finance Committee
BTC:   Board Tender Committee
RBP:   Board Recovery and Build Programme Committee
Denotes chairmanship of a committee