Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Skip Navigation LinksHome>Municipal supply interruptions
Municipal supply interruptions
The public notices in the local newspapers give ordinary citizens and the business community the opportunity to provide input to Eskom, but also to engage their municipality on why it is not paying the Eskom account.
 Interruption of supply to municipalities is an action of last resort and only implemented after all other mechanisms have been exhausted and have failed to deliver the required outcomes.
·        Eskom is sensitive to the impact that this will have on the economy, local business, and the public at large and, for this reason, has extensively engaged with stakeholders, affected parties, the media, and others to the build-up of this.
·        Eskom understands the impact that its actions will have on members of the public (individual and/or business), and as such, we plan to focus on implementing interruptions rather than complete disconnection
Updated Planned Interruption List as at:  29 March 2019        13:53:48 
Province Municipality List of Towns Affected Planned Dates
Dr Beyers Naude
Aberdeen, Willomore, Jansenville, Steylerville
 Lekwa Teemane
Bloemhof and Christiana
Tswaing Delareyville, Sannieshof and Ottosdal
Maquasi Hills
Ramotshere Moilwa Pachsdraai 27-Apr-19
Please note the list remains dynamic and can change based on payments made and/or agreements signed

              Planned Interruption Date​​
              ​Interruption started on this date​
Eskom follows the PAJA process before it can interrupt supply to the affected municipalities. This process can be summarised as follows:
·        The electricity supply agreement (ESA) between Eskom and the municipalities stipulates that the monthly account becomes due as soon as the municipality receives the invoice.
·        Should the municipality fail to pay the account within 30 days of the account becoming due, Eskom may disconnect the supply to the municipality after Eskom has given the municipality 14 days’ written notice.
·        Eskom needs to follow a public consultation process before it can disconnect the municipality.
·        The process starts with Eskom issuing a written notice of intent to the municipality.
·        Should the municipality fail to correct the breach within this period or make alternative arrangements, Eskom will issue a public notice in the local newspapers in two of the official languages spoken in the affected area.
·        The public notice provides details of Eskom’s intent to disconnect the municipality for non-payment and invites interested and affected parties to submit comments/reasons to Eskom as to why Eskom should not continue with the disconnection.